About Samuel Tweed

Making beautiful mohair and fabric accessories for over 80 years

Samuel Tweed Fabrics was founded by the Tweed family, who still farm the Bolster Moor area of Huddersfield today.

Like many farmers at the turn of the 20th Century, the Tweed family used the wool stock from their farm in their small weaving mill for the manufacture of textiles. This included travelling rugs for the rapidly growing motoring fraternity. With Huddersfield having the largest concentration of Rolls Royce in the world, by the late 1940’s due to the wealth of the mill owners, business thrived.

In 1950’s the company was sold to Taylor and Briggs and over the intervening years other products areas were added. These included floor rugs, scarves, and stoles. By the mid 1950’s apparel fabrics were being shipped to the top fashion houses of Europe.

In 1953 the business was re located to the south side of Huddersfield at Whitley Willows where its iconic mill-pond and black swans was a familiar destination for the world’s top fashion designers. In the early 1970’s the regal fibre Mohair was introduce into the collection for the first time. The name Samuel Tweed has been synonymous with luxury wool mohair fabric ever since.

In 2007 Whitley Willows ceased trading and Design Director John Harrison, who had designed and marketed the Samuel Tweed fabrics range for more than 25 years, saw an opportunity to acquire the brand. John now designs the collection in his studio in Yorkshire and the designer fashion fabric is manufactured solely in the UK.

Two models wearing mohair jackets
Model wearing a mohair scarf
Model wearing a mohair scarf

Learn more about Samuel Tweed: